… Cheers to 2016!

Ahoj friends,

Well, I officially came back to Prague as of last Monday! After a couple of months at home and figuring out what to do, the visa finally came through and the job I was in line for before leaving also fell into place.  I am so thankful that I am back in the Czech Republic for the start of the year – refreshed and ready to go for round two 🙂 The first time was just practice, right?

The holidays were an amazing and restful (and much needed) time with family back near Tulsa.  I am beyond grateful for the love that constantly surrounds me, and only hope I spread it to others wherever I go!

So within the last week, I have been in the USA (my roots), London (remember that boy I mentioned?), Berlin (to pick up my visa), and Prague (new home) – I should seriously consider inventing a live-in suitcase.  I currently live in a one bedroom flat in a beautiful part of Prague (District 3 – very Hunger Games) for a couple of months that I am renting out from an American friend I met at the International Church here last fall.

I start work tomorrow…. I am the first employee that this start-up company has hired – two guys started it (one is from Colorado and the other is from Scotland) and I am the third addition. I will be driving their social media/marketing campaign for the next year, launching and promoting their company, and teaching English to businesses in Prague.   It is a really small company with a lot of potential and challenge ahead – I am really excited (and a bit unsure of how it will go) for this venture; therefore, it will be interesting to see where it all leads in the next couple of years. I am excited you will be joining me as well!

Outside of work hours, I have met wonderful people last year who are still here including a girl who was on the reality show House Hunters International – oh yes, I did apply.   I am also very involved in an anti human trafficking training program that is changing Prague in so many amazing ways… I cannot wait to share more as I keep learning about it.  The crime is appalling but so much good is happening.   Every saved life is celebrated. I am connected to other anti human trafficking organizations in London, Florida, and Oklahoma so it will be so cool to see how they all connect in the next few years.  I am a huge believer in that there is purpose behind everything – the dots all connect and it’s only when we look back that we can see it clearly. Excited!

I am loving NOT driving a car (the public transportation is incredibly efficient here), walking everywhere, lovely cafes, people having conversations in pubs and restaurants without their phones out, and fun accents everywhere I go! Some things are not perfect, but right now, I am learning to embrace those imperfections.

Enjoy these winter wonderland photos that I took today in the heart of Prague. Isn’t it just so enchanting? This city definitely captures my soul in more ways than I can express – I could see these sights everyday and never tire of them.  So very thankful I get to spend 2016 in this magical place. Come visit! And now I leave you with this quote that has been on my mind a lot lately…

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” – Hence, the photo op today.

Thanks to a challenge by a previous professor, my word of the year is:  COMMITMENT. 🙂

Happy 2016 – May it the best year yet for you!

Love,
Heather xoxo

untitled-1020842Jan Hus Old Town Squareuntitled-1020845Jan Hus Old Town Squareuntitled-1020862Jan Hus Old Town Squareuntitled-1020875Jan Hus Old Town Squareuntitled-1020876Jan Hus Old Town Squareuntitled-1020887Jan Hus Old Town Squareuntitled-1020891Jan Hus Old Town Squareuntitled-1020901Jan Hus Old Town Squareuntitled-1020910Jan Hus Old Town Squareuntitled-1020914Jan Hus Old Town Squareuntitled-1020938Jan Hus Old Town Squareuntitled-1020943Jan Hus Old Town Square

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

IMG_9698

 

 

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

