… Ciao Bella! Italia, we meet again.

A twelve hour drive yesterday through the Czech Republic, Germany, Austria, and Northern Italy – castles atop the hills, unrestored fortresses, and villages within the mountains along the way. A beautiful sight to say the least. It is beyond what I can describe in writing. A feeling of majesticness (a new word I made up that just feels right), awe, wonder, and loveliness.

At 9PM, we arrived to the place I lived for two years from 2011 to 2013 – Paderno del Grappa. It is a very small village about one hour west of Venice, 2000 people, one café, no restaurant (the one pizzeria recently closed), one convenient store, a roundabout, a pharmacy, and the CIMBA, the American Undergraduate and MBA program that takes place on the same grounds as a Catholic High School use for both accommodation and classes. The area itself might sound a bit depressing (but trust me, it is so picturesque it doesn’t matter!) and the closest village is a five minute walk in each direction so need to fret when you are in need of something more.

It is a village nestled at the foot of the Dolomite Mountains that then lead into the Alps. The balcony from my room overlooked these mountains. So lovely isn’t it? I met one my dearest friends for coffee this morning and I told her that I don’t remember feeling as grateful when I was here so it’s amazing to be here now and live in that gratitude. One lesson I definitely have started to grow in and learn is thankfulness no matter what. I know that it may seem easy for someone like me to be thankful to be in these places, and trust me I am, but I am also learning to be grateful in those crazy, hard and challenging moments. You know, when life happens. I don’t know what tomorrow brings; therefore, today I am so thankful I get to see this place and be here with amazing friends…. And speak Italian!

FullSizeRender IMG_6856 IMG_6858 IMG_6859 IMG_6860 IMG_6864

5 comments

  1. Hi Heather! My fav blog entry to date…living in the moment…love that…gonna try to do that well next week in san fran. Love the pic of the restaurant…love you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ciao Della is right Heather you are doing it right and I miss you!!!!! The pictures are great and remind me of when I lived there, luv the Dolomite Mts and the food in the north of Italy is fab!!!!!!! Life is short sweety enjoy every minute of it. LOVE and MISS you 🙂 Terry

    Like

Leave a Reply

